May 10, 2011

I am taking the 3 hours approximate, adventure of a lifetime ride to the City of Malaybalay, the capital of the Province of Bukidnon, 100 km away from Cagayan de Oro City in the beautiful Philippine country. I have no idea what I am getting at, where this is going to take me. Few of the people I am with in this new journey are the only thing next to comfort. The rest, are all unknown. I am not sure if this is of more worth than what I am leaving behind…


One afternoon, I looked around my overly messy room inside my hometown, trying to fix it a bit when I found the sendoff gift from the people I used to work with in Bukidnon about 6 months ago. I read the messages they wrote for me and found myself smiling from ear to ear. The memories came rushing back to me like sea breeze. Cool, sweet and salty.

The place is known for its cool weather and warm people. 20 Municipalities and 2 Cities all composes the entire province. The Provincial office is situated in Malaybalay City, where there, in the heart of Bukidnon I stayed for 4 ultimately amazing years.

More than four years ago, I could still remember myself as an estranged girl stepping for the first time in a strange place meeting new strangers.

Later that year, I was on my way knowing about the place, the people and mostly myself. The four years offered me experiences I never thought I would be getting. It has given me chances to make the right and wrong decisions, heartbreaking realizations and boundless appreciation of life in general.

I know it is not possible to narrate my entire stay in the province because aside from “It will be too long for just one blog post”, I cannot remember every detail at all. Haha! Instead, I am going to share to you what are the remarkable things (which for sure I will not forget until the last days of my life) that I saw/experienced while I was in the place. Here are they….

LONG TRAVEL

It took me seconds to digest when the answer I got from asking “How many hours does it take to travel from Cagayan de Oro to Bukidnon?” is 3 hours in a bus ride. Imagine my horror when I figure that I will have to go through that twice a week. I was so sure then that the travel will be my weekly torture (coz I also did not know then that there are far worst things than that). Well, It did not took a heartbeat before I realized that the long travel was a GIFT. The gift of time and of being alone. There were even times later that the travel felt short (especially if you’ve got a lot to think and to figure out). Because when life has given you too much, you have to just sit down to slow down.

SCENIC VIEW

If you have been to Bukidnon, for sure you can relate. For along the mountainous place is a vast of magnificent greens and blues. The rivers are singing in their inconceivable movements. The far away forest are a sight that calms the mind. There, you always say “Thank you” to the things and spaces that was created. There, you are sure that they are all made for you.

COLD WEATHER

Oh this one I miss…. like so much. Our provincial office has no air-conditioner.. what for? The summer heat is not really hot and the Christmas cold is way colder (Compared to CDO heat anyways). If you are new there (unless if you are from Antarctic or other cold places in the world), the morning bath will be your enemy. Hahaha! But as for me, I had happy times twice a day… and those are the morning and evening cold bath. The cold never bothered me anywaaaaaaaaaaaaay! But did anyone know why this place is cold? oh no, do not give me scientific and theoretical explanation. That would bore both me and you. Haha! Seriously?! Most of us who came and go in the place knows… ‘This place is cold because it has hearts that warms inside’.

THE PEOPLE

The goodbye message I wrote keeps on replaying in my head while I write this.

— So, I look back to have a final glimpse of the place I am home for four amazing years and held my gaze at the people who molded me as I am today. I have so much to say. But with tears, I only shaped the words ‘Thank you’. —

To all the people I’ve known in Bukidnon (Special mention to the POO staff), I hope you are reading this one. For I have never felt to have said  those words enough. You do not know how much thankful I am that once in my lifetime I’ve been with you. You really taught me valuable lessons. You have no idea how glad I am to have known you.

Thanks for accepting me for who I am.

Thanks for letting me in your lives.

Thanks for making me feel welcome.

Thanks for all the adventures. I am keeping them all as much as I’m keeping you in my heart.

Thanks for being there as I made the right (and wrong) decisions.

Thanks for always having a hand when I cannot hold it anymore.

Thanks for always having a shoulder to lean on. (Some have really big shoulders so I know I could lean on them. Half joke!hahaha!)

Thanks for always listening though I know I am annoying and I do not make sense. *Truth

Thanks for all the laughter, tears and grief.

Thanks for just being there.

You all make me feel special in this short life. Please know that you made my life worthwhile. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. (to the nth time…)

I may have a wrecked and crazy heart, but you are all here and at home. 😉

Sometimes in our lives, we are given chances. It is for us to decide if we dive through it. For fate are molded from all the decisions we made. We are all made from all those choices: right or wrong. Taking the Bukidnon experience was the best decision I made so far. I may have not known it few years back and I may have given it up shortly, but I’ve grown more than I really thought I would through all the lessons I have there.

For all those things, there were no regrets, only lessons learned.

That’s why I ♥ Bukidnon.

Hasta Mañana!

3 thoughts on “Of growing,learning & living (Misadventures in Bukidnon)

Leave a comment